The Ear

The Ear

Upgrade to Shiken Premium Call To Action Banner

The Anatomy of the Ear

The human ear is a remarkable and complex organ composed of four distinct parts: the External Ear, the Middle Ear, the Inner Ear, and the Eustachian (Auditory) Tube.

The External Ear is made up of the visible part of the ear, called the pinna, and the ear canal. The external ear is responsible for collecting sound waves and funneling them through the ear canal into the middle ear.

The Middle Ear is the area between the eardrum and the inner ear. It consists of the eardrum, a thin membrane that separates the outer ear from the middle ear, and three small bones: the malleus (hammer), the incus (anvil), and the stapes (stirrup). When soundwaves enter the ear, they cause the eardrum to vibrate, which in turn causes the three small bones to vibrate. The vibrations are then sent to the inner ear.

The Inner Ear contains the cochlea, a snail-shaped organ that is responsible for transforming sound vibrations into neural signals that travel to the brain. The cochlea is filled with fluid and lined with tiny hairs that are sensitive to sound vibrations. Each of these hairs is connected to a nerve that sends the sound information to the brain.

The Eustachian Tube is a narrow tube that connects the middle ear to the back of the throat and helps to equalize the air pressure between the middle ear and the outside atmosphere. This pressure equalization prevents the eardrum from becoming too stretched or too relaxed, allowing it to vibrate efficiently.

The ear is an amazing organ that takes sound waves from the outside world and converts them into signals that the brain can interpret and understand.

Explore More Subject Explanations

Try Shiken Premium
for Free

14-day free trial. Cancel anytime.
Get Started
Join 10,000+ learners worldwide.
The first 14 days are on us
96% of learners report x2 faster learning
Free hands-on onboarding & support
Cancel Anytime